10/9/2011: Red Maple Awards

I’ve noticed that I’ve stopped reading books. That was probably because I borrowed so many art books from my public library and forget to check them back in so I ended up getting a $13.50 fine (that my dad payed off) and so that encouraged me to never borrow books from the library ever again. Also because if you don’t borrow books for a period of time then they expire the library card.

Instead I went to the library in my school, which has the nicest librarian I have probably ever known. I borrowed a book that I am very glad I borrowed called “Gemini Summer” by Iain Lawrence. This book is really awesome and has a great story and meaning.

This book is also a Red Maple Award Nominee which is a book club that is for grades 7-8 all around (I think) the Toronto region and we have to read the nominated books and then we have to vote for the one that we like the the best. More like we have to vote for two because there are two categories: Fiction and Non-Fiction. They hold (I guess you could say) an event to announce the winners of the Red Maple Award and the voters come to see if their favorite book(s) has/have won or not. Note that these books are all from Canadian authors.

The Red Maple Club occurs every year but since the school year has just started, the club hasn’t started yet. Wow, my wording was really bad. I can’t wait for the club to start and see the new nominees; plus we get new books…non-used books.

The 2012 Red Maple selections are going to be announced on October 17. [Insert SpongeBob laugh] I only have to wait for a week…I wonder if Red Maple Club is going to start soon too? [Insert evil smile.]

I pretty much rate all the books I have read on Goodreads. Goodreads is probably the best and easiest book reviewing (and other stuff like that) site that I know. The site also has other uses like “the quote of the day”, polls, and new books that come out.

I’m not much of a bookworm for not all books fit  my genre but if there is a book that is really awesome then it is probably going to motivate me to keep reading, especially if it’s something I wouldn’t usually want to read.

2 responses to “10/9/2011: Red Maple Awards

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any manner you possibly can remove me from that service? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

