Knowledge is My Middle Name

When I face an obsession head on I just can’t stop. I need to know every single little thing about that obsession or my mind is just like a worthless encyclopaedia. Here take this for example. Have you ever heard about the term “otaku”. Well, I knew the basic definition of it: you are addicted to the computer to the point that you are unsociable and don’t think about anything other than …technology itself. When I checked the definition, I turned into a batch of embarrassed sushi.

I checked Urban Dictionary and I got this amazingly accurate definition of myself.

Otaku, meaning probably “venerable house,” refers to someone who has a devotion to a subject or hobby (not necessarily anime) to the point of not leaving home. For instance, an otaku fan of a particular movie star could quite possibly know all of the films s/he has been in, their birth date, time of birth, shoe size, favorite toothpaste, etc. Generally speaking, calling someone an otaku in Japan is an insult, implying that their social skills have atrophied or never even developed, due to their manic involvement in their chosen fandom.

I also got this defnition earlier which was relatively accurate:

Otaku is the honorific word of Taku (home).Otaku is extremely negative in meaning as it is used to refer to someone who stays at home all the time and doesn’t have a life (no social life, no love life, etc)

I do like anime and manga but I only started to like it when I came to Toronto. My friends liked it before me and have recommended many, many manga. But by a few months, I soon realized I knew more mangakas and manga than any of my friends. There were also times where I knew other things more than people that have been a fan for more than 4 years.

I guess it’s different when you just know something. For example, it takes you at least a decade to understand the world since the time you were born. That would be the same amount of time understanding your culture and language. If you are to learn a new culture or a new language it would take 1 decade at the same place. But for someone that already understands how the world works, you are going to want to learn everything faster. Eagerness kicks in and you use all available resources…the internet. (^^)

I guess that’s why I do things in such a rush and with such eagerness. I am eager right now, trying to finish this post so that I have one more post than I had last time. Very useless posts that talk about random stuff because we don’t have enough history in the 21st century. Nothing big happened. I mean, Osama was gonna die some day. He’s not immortal…or is he? Same with Joseph Kony. Hopefully the Earth explodes and everyone dies. Well based on BBC News, it already has.

Leave a Reply

