November 22/2012: How I Failed NaNoWrimo

I know the month hasn’t ended but I’ve come to the conclusion of giving up on my writing goal by the middle of the month. Why? Mainly because my daily life was getting a little busy. When I say a little busy, I mean I got a new video game and can’t stop playing it. I’m not good with obsessions but then again, my sister’s worse. Just go ask her and she’ll tell you how she spent her summer watching all 120 episodes of Lost in just one month; waking up, going to the TV, watching, having small breaks for food, watching, and going to sleep. That was her daily routine. It doesn’t seem that bad because I summarized it but it’s horrifying when your there, watching her just….watch. It’s not like Lost was her obsession but it was one of her biggest.

I don’t know why but I can never seem to set a great goal, like 50,000 words in a month. I always somehow miss a day and have to end up writing 3,000 words instead of the 1,667. It’s irritating when you don’t know what to write because the plotting just becomes very boring. I guess I’m going to spend the next 12 months thinking about the plot and planning it all out so I may possibly be able to succeed next year.

Leave a Reply

