How to Be a Better Teacher

It’s been a while since my last post entry. So long ago that whilst I was trying to write “wordpress.com”, I made errors repetitively. You can’t blame me for being inactive. It’s exams season and right now, I’m half way done. I just finished my English exam yesterday which consisted of reading a story and answering compelling questions about it. I also had my Science exam (wow, it took me about half a minute to remember which subject it was). The Science was much harder mainly because no one likes Science and if you do, then you’re lying! I’m just joking. No, I do have trouble understanding the subject not because I’m   stupid (I couldn’t think of a better word to explain my intelligence) but because my teacher just isn’t that good in teaching. How would you be able to memorize a school year’s worth of information if all the teacher does for the time span is write on the board, walk around, argue, make us do labs that don’t make sense, and give us worksheets. I hate worksheets. Here are some tips to my teachers on how to teach your student correctly.

  1. Do not give us worksheets. Yes, they may be helpful but just worksheets don’t help that much. While I’m looking up answers for the sheet, I actually have never learned it before. And that is because you only spent five to ten minutes talking about it! Here is a perfectly good example. For Science, we were learning about electrostatics and we had to understand the concept of a series and parallel circuit. My teacher just gave us worksheets that told us to look up the definition and then draw out a series circuit with one light bulb, one switch and one voltmeter. And then it told me to draw out a parallel circuit that has light bulbs 2 and 3 in a series and 1 parallel to 2 and 3 and a switch that only works on 2 and 3 and a battery and- STOP. It took me for forever to figure out what she actually meant by that and it’s mainly because she had never talked about it. It was so complicated that I wondered if I mysteriously happened to forget I had school on a Sunday and I slept in and didn’t go but everyone else did because for some reason, all my classmates knew what they were doing.
  2. Take slow and simple steps to explaining a new concept and GIVE EXAMPLES. To my Science teacher, draw examples of a series circuit and a parallel circuit. Put up a question on the board that we would find in our homework and show us how to do it. Write down definitions in relation to what we’re going to learn. Don’t act surprised when we say, “I don’t remember learning this,” because you may have taught it so vaguely and unprofessionally that we couldn’t understand it enough to remember. Just ’cause you went to teacher’s college and you’ve worked at one school for 30 years doesn’t make you a good teacher. Understanding how your students learn is what does.
  3. Take up all the answers. I don’t care if we don’t have enough time to finish a course. Just show the answers on the board. And not just show them because I will be too distracted with the new sheets of homework you gave us. Take up the answers no matter how hard or easy it is. Some of us with pride and dignity issues (me) don’t want to raise up their hand and say they found a question difficult even though no one else did, so you should consider the less fortunate and just explain it! Also, I don’t like getting tutoring after school from my teacher ’cause ‘meh’. And yes, that is a valid statement.

The only class that sort of has a perfect teacher to teach is my math class because my teacher knows. Like, she really knows her stuff. She does everything above except for the tutoring part. I’m never going to go to any of those tutoring sessions because those moments that school’s not mandatory, my thinking hat just flops to the ground. Of course, she gives us worksheets, but SHE EXPLAINS THEM FIRST. That is why my EQAO (this math thing) felt super duper easy (even though I probably won’t get that high of a grade because my ego is a little messed up).

By the way, this is not a rant because a rant would be all over the place and very … unprofessional. In other words, this is not an opinion. IT’S HARD FACTS SO IT’S IMPOSSIBLE TO CONTRADICT MY OPINION. Unless, it’s in caps. If it’s in caps, it’s an opinion.

Leave a Reply

