Prisoners [Movie] Review

Around summer, I went to watch Now You See ME, another great film, with my dad, sister and my dad’s friends. Just before the film, there are a lot of film advertisements and one of them happened to be Prisoners. That was the first time I learned about it and since that day, I’ve wanted to watch it. I loved Paul Dano in Little Miss Sunshine and Ruby Sparks so Prisoners was a definite must watch movie for both me and my sister. (If you haven’t watched Ruby Sparks then you need to. It’s going to change your life.) Yes, I knew Prisoners was far from both the other movies; it involving a lot more violence and blood. But after watching Pewdiepie play Walking Dead, The Last of Us, and Heavy Rain, I wasn’t that worried about a thriller. Plus, I’ve also been watching Breaking Bad and watched The Call starring Abigail Breslin and Halle Berry. But I didn’t expect Prisoners to be this intense.

If they shot this film at any other place or any other climate, it wouldn’t be what it is today. A cold and frosty feel to the environment creates an impact like no other. The girls that allegedly runaway for up to a week could never survive in this sort of weather by themselves. There had got to be more to the story. If they lived in Florida or Texas, I don’t think I would be as worried. But their town rained and snowed and looked colder than Canada.

I did feel a little uncomfortable with the girls’ acting. They didn’t seem to know what they were doing or that they were in this big movie. It didn’t stop me from enjoying the rest of the film though.

The best about this film was the realistic imperfections of the characters. Hugh Jackman‘s character, Keller, would go to such an extent as to kidnap someone who he though kidnapped his daughter even though he necessarily didn’t have any proof. The torturing they did to him was horrendous. Terrance Howard‘s character, even though he did want to find his child, objected to such negligence but at the end seemed to hesitantly agree. Paul Dano‘s character just seemed mentally ill. He was confused and it made sense as to why. If I were him, I wouldn’t have even given away those little hints and continue to suffer. I would’ve just told Keller the truth. Maria Bello‘s character dropped to depression; something you wouldn’t expect in most movies. When you hear of kidnapped stories, the mother is the one that goes around passing posters of their missing child; they are never the one to be lying in bed or crying the whole day. Lastly, Jake Gyllenhaal‘s character for not doing his job with precautions but at the end he did manage to solve all the questions.

The one factor that brought this thing up to my favorites list is that I could fit the puzzle pieces before the end of the story. It made me feel smarter than I actually am and I did feel confused. I did have to think about it a little bit but the more I thought, the more I understood and the better the movie seemed.

I think the moral of this story is nothing is as it seems. Always look at different perspectives and don’t believe everything that anyone says. There’s always one part of the puzzle missing and something completely irrelevant at the beginning may have everything to do with it.

Yo, you should watch this movie. (Unless you don’t want swearing every thirty seconds or don’t want to see a lot of violence.) By the way, most of the people in the theater watching this movie were either in their late 20s or the elderly.

You are awesome, Denis Villeneuve.

Leave a Reply

