What Defines Good Music?

This has become a big part in my life, influencing the way I think about certain topics and between what’s right and what isn’t. There are songs that have an addictive beat or chorus, which is what made me interested in music in the first place. Then there are songs that have lyrics that you love, whether they make sense or not. Some of the lyrics are just funny and I can’t help but reference off of them sometimes. Then there are songs that are utterly stupid yet everyone seems to like them. But at the end of the day there is no good or bad music. Music isn’t scientific. We cannot assume that one song is great and another isn’t. It all leads to the person’s opinion yet everyone has a differing opinion.

Talk to someone every day for fifteen days, someone that you get along with quite well and you think has practically the same interests as you. Eventually, you’ll find out that not everything they like is the same whether those opinions are small and irrelevant or not. It may not influence the way you see them but as I have proven, not every person has the exact same opinions and interests. That is probably why the Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms were ever created (even though most people don’t seem to follow them anyways).

I was introduced to urban and debatably ‘mainstream’ music when I moved to California in 2008. I was only ten then but since I was technically not from a first world country, I had no idea what mainstream music was. My first few friends, ones that I would end up hating for the rest of my life, showed me ‘Lean Like a Cholo’ and ‘Beautiful Girls’ and that was when I wanted to explore music. I know, it’s extremely embarrassing to know that this was what got me interested. Then there was also ‘Low’ by Flo Rida which really affected what I listened to. Then I discovered the pop culture channel, 102.7 Kiss FM and that’s how I learned most of the modern songs. There was also YouTube and other kids in my class.

But as I got older, I began exploring music from the 90’s and 80’s and even up to the 60’s. It took baby steps but I realized that the music from the 2000’s were incredibly horrid. Everything seemed sexualized, specifically about clubbing. Then there was the genre of country which was just hovering on a topic I cannot care to understand. Soon my playlists moved from modern clubbing music to N’Sync, Backstreet Boys and Earth, Wind and Fire. This still lasts but not as much as it did before.

But when I moved to Toronto, the hub of indie hipsters, my friends influenced me to listen to music that isn’t all about the why it sounds but what they are saying. At first, I disagreed and moved my genre to k-pop, which was a dark and scary time, but then something changed and I began hating everything pop culture. I think it happened when Justin Bieber released ‘Boyfriend’. Then I began disliking music by Katy Perry and really any artist that made songs that seemed over produced and not voicing what they felt.

Honestly, Katy Perry is a great example. I want to listen to an artist that I understand musically. We’re never going to understand them personally so that’s why I said musically. Unfortunately, she doesn’t’t seem to maintain a certain music style, making songs that just sound good on the radio. Of course, I can’t continue saying anything because a lot of you will already think that she’s much more successful than I am so the jokes actually on me… It isn’t’t.

Everything changed a bit when my sister began listening to Lana Del Rey, music that I didn’t’t understand and found it weird that she could. I eventually got used to it and began listening to her myself. Then I got an 8tracks account and I completely changed. Just kidding, it was a bit slower than that. Of course, I ended up disliking even the songs that my hipster friends listened to and found my own genre. Finally! I listen to music that can define me and I don’t care if people like it or not, but I would like it if they did.

And now, I am even more hipster because I listen to artists that are emerging, British and bands. There are really only a few that are actually solo artists. This includes Marina and the Diamonds, Charli XCX, Kings of Leon, MOATS, Bombay Bicycle Club, Foxes, Haim, Grimes, and Lorde (don’t judge me, I’m not basic, some of her songs are actually good).

But, yeah. Music. Nothing’s good, nothing’s bad. It all just psychological stuff. Unless it’s Robin Thicke. His songs are bad.

Leave a Reply

