The Rosie Project | Book Review

The Rosie ProjectThe Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I deliberately planned out the reason and outcome of reading this book. It wasn’t one I would’ve specifically picked out but aren’t I glad I actually did read it. You could say Graeme Simsion has blown my mind away with The Rosie Project to the point where I’ll be thinking about for much of my life. It was filled with laughs, angst, worries, and promises. I opened the book expecting a good read, and I finished it with great satisfaction.

The Rosie Project is (basically) about Don Tillman, a forty-year-old ‘Prof’, who after many failed attempts still doesn’t have a life-partner. Realizing it must come to an end, he develops The Wife Project, where he creates a questionnaire for many, and I mean many women to fill out, until one day Rosie Jarman — who he assumed filled out the questionnaire too — pops into his office, suggested my one of his only friends and co-worker, Gene. She turns about to be exactly what Don did not want in a wife but has the instincts to help her in another project: The Father Project. Rosie’s mom had went ‘gene shopping’ at her graduation party and got killed in a car accident when Rosie was twelve(?). Now she’s hoping to find her biological father for ‘closure’ and since Don is a geneticist, why not help her? But honestly, he could have just got her to go to a commercial genetics investigator who would’ve cause less troubles and adventures for the two as they went around Melbourne and even to New York taking every single sample of a possible candidate of her father. If he could’ve saved all that work, why did he help her? Of course, that was soon for him to find out as he began to understand the true meaning of love and falling in it.

Don Tillman is iconic and unique. The way he narrates the story is memorizing and as I read the book, I imagined my life planned his way. I find it like a fantasy, especially with the disorganization in my life, but eventually realized that Simsion wrote it to show the point of Don’s actions was negative. I like that Don’s over-organized and sees life without emotions in every little task. It made me envious until I realized the reason everything in his life was going down was because of his ‘OCD’. Either way, his intellectual ignorance made the book even more funny as people laughed at the little things he did. It’s easy to see that when people react a certain way to the things he does, Don understands much later than the reader, making the reader feel smarter just for a second. At least that’s how I felt.

Then there is Rosie Jarman, who I actually started off hating. My idea of what would happen in the book, which is actually wrong, is that he’d meet Rosie and immediately fall in love with her only to realize she irrationally not the one. But she grew on me and I’m glad or else I would’ve definitely not liked the ending. I think the reason why I didn’t like her to begin with was because I was more focused in hoping Don would find his perfect idea of a wife, to notice it wasn’t about certain characteristics in a person that determine their qualifications as a life partner. Just like him, I learned as I continued to read the book, and when he started to see her differently, so did I.

I’ll like a book if I can guess the outcome of the story. I’ll madly love the book if my hypothesis is wrong. I’ll be spiritually and religiously devoted to it if it tricks me into thinking I’m right until at the very last moment, it smacks in the face with a big fat, “WRONG!” And that’s exactly what happened with The Rosie Project, to my pleasure and embarrassment. No intended spoilers but the person you begin to believe is her father, is not her father after all.

Many scenes in the book were captivating and even made me do the one thing I’m self-famous for: imagining it as a movie. Yes, I actually began to imagine this book being turned into a movie. And it was imagined amazingly — side note: I would love to direct it if there was ever a point in my life where I could.

The writing was top-notch and unique on its own. I’ve never read a book where scenes were recalled with titles, for example The Jacket Incident. And Simsion, I loved the exclamation marks! They made me chuckle every time. Oh, and I also took that little quiz on the website about which character I was. I got Claudia as I’d suspected. (Did I sound like Don there? I tried really hard to.) And I got a 64% on how compatible I am with Don. Thank goodness not that much for I hate exercising or much organization.

Five stars because that’s the maximum I can go! A must read if you are mature enough.

Leave a Reply

